Skip to content
March 14, 2007 / Bob Black

ProGrammar

If you’re interested in writing a custom parser to parse complex text (such as a programming language or text files with complex formatting), I encourage you to check out http://www.programmar.com/, a toolkit/SDK for developing parsers. Their toolkit includes an IDE that lets you visually walk a parse tree while you’re creating your parser definition file (which has only a moderate learning curve, in my opinion).

The only problem is their site appears to be severely out of date. The launch date for ProGrammar v.2 is still listed as June, 2006. What gives?

At any rate, version 1.0 is mucho magnifico. Not everyone is looking for a custom parser creation toolkit, but if you are, you have to check these guys (or gals, as the case may be) out. 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jaxin / Nov 9 2007 2:16 am

    NorKen Technologies is guilty of fraud as far as I am concerned. They took people’s money (including mine) for early upgrades to v2.0 back in 2004-05. Matter of fact, they started touting v2.0 early in 2004. Given that v1.0 was such an excellent tool, I was (am) eagerly awaiting the features promised in the new version. Just don’t hold your breath.

  2. Bob / Nov 9 2007 3:38 pm

    Sadly, I agree. They took my money for v2.0 as well – the next version of Programmar was slated for completion, what, two years ago? Every email I’ve sent apparently goes into a black hole.

    That said, v1.0 was/is an incredible tool, in particular because of the visual way you can design a parser. There’s nothing like it anywhere else, as far as I can tell. I hate to say it, but despite their stealing my money, I would still be first in line to get version 2.0 when/if it’s ever released.

    I just wish they would answer my emails.

Leave a Reply

