Skip to content
January 12, 2007 / Bob Black

SQL Server Search

I’ve added a new utility to the downloads page, a little stored procedure I wrote many moons ago for searching an MS SQL Server database for objects. It’s been gradually improved over the years, and could probably be improved even more, but I leave that exercise to you, dear reader.

SQL Server Query Analyzer has an Object Search feature, but I’ve always found it quicker and easier to just type sch ‘SearchFor’ right there in the query window to find all objects that contain ‘SearchFor’. Of course, since I provided the full source of my little stored proc, you can change the name to whatever you want. I just used sch ’cause it’s quick to type.

Check it out.

Leave a Reply

