Skip to content
October 25, 2006 / Bob Black

Get Creative

Most software developers are complete klutzes when it comes to elements of design and stuff like that. I’m not one of them. Believe it or not, I actually have a B.A. in Art (I minored in Computer Science) – a weird and strange combination to be sure. “How in the world did that happen?”, you ask. Weeelll, I once fostered imaginings and dreams of one day being a Disney-style animator, but then around about my Junior year in college I stumbled across the wonderful world of Computer Science, and was hooked. But it would’ve cost too much moolah to stay in school long enough to change my major (probably another year) so I opted to just minor in C.S. I even took a few math classes for good measure (Calculus and Discrete Math), which I quickly purged from my memory as soon as I graduated.

But back to my original point – if you’re one of those developers that never took a semester’s worth of 2D design, and couldn’t tell the difference between gouache and acrylic if your life depended on it, here’s a nifty little tool that may save your bacon. It chooses color combinations that supposedly make artfully colored web sites. For the most part, I think it works fairly well, especially if you’re aiming for one of those flashy, artsy-fartsy art-nouveau web sites (like this one).

And while you’re at it, you might want to try out this nifty .Net version of Photoshop – Paint.Net. Yeppers, it’s free.

And for even more palette choices, try the Web 2.0 Colour Palette, available here. You know it must be good because Colour has that extra U, and that just makes it all fancy and arty and stuff like that.

Have fun!

Leave a Reply

