Skip to content
September 14, 2006 / Bob Black

Aha! I have you now!

In my MSDN Wiki post, I made reference to a little problem I’m having with obfuscating Code Toaster because VS.Net is adding references to multiple runtimes. Behold – a screenshot, so y’all don’t think I’ve gone completely off me rocker.

Look – look I tell ye! There’s duplicate references to several System assemblies, one for .Net 2.0 and another for 1.0! What in de wurl is goin’ on?

 Screenshot

Well, after diving deep down into the bowels of the situation, I discovered that the ActiPro assemblies (which, as you can see, I’m using) were built using .Net 1.0, and thus reference the .Net 1.0 runtime.

And so because my assembly (CodeToaster.exe) references assemblies created for .Net 1.0 (the ActiPro assemblies), the C# compiler actually includes references for both .Net 1.0 and 2.0 assemblies in my compiled exe! Oh wow, that is just like totally rad man! Like, out of this world with difficult to debug goodness!

So, how does this solve your little obfuscation problem, you ask? Well, I’m not sure. I think I’ll stare comatose-like at the screen, coffee and Gobstoppers at hand, until a solution suddenly pops without warning into my conscious. I’ll let you know what brilliant contrivance I contrive.

And by the way, I did, in fact, purchase the ActiPro license out of my own pocket for use in this project, to increase the coolness factor (and so I wouldn’t have to build an editor from scratch). No, I’m not mooching off of my employer or anything. To be honest, my employer’s not too keen on buying third-party components anyway, but that’s a story for another day.

Later.

Leave a Reply

